Why I Support Franklin Circle Christian Church

Kathy Moody-Arndt

 

Kathy Moody-Arndt

Kathy Moody-Arndt

We all have our own ways of relating to this congregation. I was asked to share some of my reasons for my commitment to this church and for my desire to play my part in keeping it strong and vital.

 

Ken and I came to FCCC a little over a year ago.  It was July morning not long after we retired and moved back to Cleveland.  What I remember about that first Sunday, was how we both knew that this was where we wanted to be. As I look back, I find it

 

amazing to think about how much gets communicated just through the atmosphere and character of a congregation and surprisingly Pastor Allen wasn’t even here.  He was on vacation.

 

As many do, when I came to the service and looked around, I immediately noticed the diversity. (Unfortunately, this stood out because it is an unusual quality in most churches.)  I was also struck by the way that the leadership responsibilities were shared.

 

It was clear that people of different races and classes and sexual orientations were an integral part of the decisions being made.  I found myself thinking that surely this is what Jesus had in mind when he talked about loving our neighbor and reaching out to people we may not feel comfortable getting to know.

 

When I began meeting people, I assumed they had been here for some time.  Most churches I’ve been part of are primarily made up of members that go way back.  They like to tell you about the way things used to be done. Usually there is a golden age people refer to as the time in which they wish we could return.

 

I was surprised one Sunday to see the bulletin board in the chapel showing the new members and to notice all the people I thought had been here for a while who had also come recently.  It left me feeling like, yes, I could fit in just fine. I began to see that I could help foster a church that’s moving into the future.

 

Now when I come on a Sunday morning, I find myself easily laughing and having fun with other people who are here. Some might say that we have more than our share of real characters. But out of this sharing comes a spirit of joy in being together.  This helps us to then be able to give thanks as we worship and fellowship together.

 

The thing I find most moving about being with all of you is how, sometimes, I look around and realize that I’m getting a glimpse of what it means to apply my faith. I say to myself, “This must be what Paul had in mind as he ministered to the early churches challenging the members to share one another’s joys and burdens and to affirm gifts both great and small.”

 

Now in spite of all these strengths, I am aware that we are not perfect.  Sometimes in fact I’m disappointed by things I hear and see.  Yet as we share together from all our different ages and backgrounds and perspectives, I find my faith is renewed and I leave giving thanks for God’s blessings and challenges in my life.

 

As we ponder our own thoughts, let us now express our thanks to God for this church and for Christians around the world as we offer our morning gifts.

