Communion Meditation ~ Allen V. Harris

Franklin Circle Christian Church

June 12, 2011 – Pentecost Sunday (Pentecost, Pooches, & A Picnic)

One of my favorite singer/songwriters, Carrie Newcomer, has a marvelous song about a dog and his owner called “Arthur B. and Bob,” written from the perspective of the dog, Bob.  In one verse, the dog sings,

Photo by Don Hudson

Some nights he takes me walking

To the cafe round the corner

He ties me up outside

So I can guard the parking meter

One night she let me in

To rest my head upon his knee

Cause there’s never been two friends like Arthur B and me (1)

There’s a certain thrill to being “let in,” isn’t there?  I know whenever I was young, I could tell that as urgent as it was for me to let me dog, Duchess, out of the house, it was always far more evident how excited she was to be let in!

THAT’S what the Pentecost experience was all about, and it is exactly why churches like Franklin Circle Christian Church draw folks from all walks of life.  It’s

Photo by Don Hudson

because we heard Jesus’ message loud and clear: EVERYONE should be let in.  It is fundamental to the gospel of Jesus Christ that everyone is not only welcomed, but accepted at the family table.  What you do, and how you do it, is your life’s journey and may be a rich topic for discussion at the table.  But your presence at the table is not up for discussion.  God has let us into the house, and that’s that!

I believe in my heart that on that first Pentecost day, when everyone heardthe gospel being proclaimed in their own language, that even the dogs of Jerusalem heard the good news that they were invited into the house, the household of God.  And the cats, too.  The birds of the air and the fish of the sea.  After all, Jesus

said, “Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God.” (Luke 12:6)

So on this Pentecost Day, let us remember that not only is the entire household of God, but especially this, the dining room table, is open to all.  Hear that as good news in the rush of the wind, whether it be in your native tongue of Spanish, German, English, West African… or in the howls and barks of our furry friends.  You are welcome here! [Ruff!] Come on in!

(1) http://www.carrienewcomer.com/lyrics/regulars_and_refugees_lyrics.pdf

