March 13, 2013

Second Sunday Circle Celebration

Psalm 32:6-11 – “Come On In Out Of The Cold!” – Rev. Allen V. Harris

Listen to the Sermon Podcast HERE!  110313SermonPodcast

 

NOTE: The sermon was led by the Spirit today… no text!  But, we do have the basic outline of the vignettes that were spread throughout the service.  You need to know that each one ended with a blanket wrapped around the person who was experiencing the “cold.”

 

Worship Vignettes for March SSCC Worship

1.

Pastor Allen:

Hey Claire!

What’s going on with you?  As you walked by, I felt a bit of a cold chill!  What is it that’s leaving you ‘out in the cold’ today?

Claire:

Well, what really brings a chill to my soul is when a person’s behavior shows that he or she doesn’t believe that we are all God’s children and deserve to be treated with respect.  And by “children,” I do mean adults as well as children and youth.  We all deserve to be valued.

Allen:

I would agree.  Being disrespected and devalued leaves God’s children out in the cold. Even here in at Franklin Circle Christian Church we need to be reminded of that truth. Come, together let’s do something about that, and let the warmth of God’s love thaw us all out!

2.

Pastor Allen:

Hey Larry!

What’s going on with you?  As you walked by, I felt a bit of a cold chill!  What is it that’s leaving you ‘out in the cold’ today?

Larry:

You’ve figured me out!  What really brings a chill to my soul is a dead church, where the love of the Lord is not expressed, and only cold and dead repetition of ritual takes place.  My soul is warmed by being in the presence of the love of the Lord that is expressed by the people and when worship is based on a relationship with Jesus rather than on ritual handed down from the past.

Allen:

I would agree.  Relying on ritual rather than relationship in worship, or really anywhere, leaves God’s children out in the cold.  Even here at Franklin Circle Christian Church we need to be reminded of that truth.  Come, together let’s do something about that, and let the warmth of God’s love thaw us all out.

3.

Pastor Allen:

Hey Cody!

What’s going on with you?  As you walked by, I felt a bit of a cold chill!  What is it that’s leaving you ‘out in the cold’ today?

Cody:

You know, what really brings a chill to my soul is poor communication, especially when people talk at me and not with me.  Sometimes I feel people are preaching to me or at me, and rather than warming me up, drawing me closer to God, they are in fact pushing me away.  I tend to respond to God’s word more in deeds than in words.

Allen:

I would agree.  Having someone not really see you for who you are, but rather as a target to get a point across would make any child of God feel left out in the cold. Even here – especially here? – at Franklin Circle Christian Church we need to be reminded of that truth.  Come, together let’s do something about that, and let the warmth of God’s love thaw us all out!

4.

Pastor Allen:

Hey Colleen!

What’s going on with you?  As you walked by, I felt a bit of a cold chill!  What is it that’s leaving you ‘out in the cold’ today?

Colleen:

Well, that’s easy to answer.  My spirit is chilled when I seem to always be leading worship and never am able to worship myself!  I know as a worship leader I’m supposed to understand worship more fully, and I really love planning it, especially these Second Sunday Circle Celebrations, but by the time all the preparations are done, I’m cold!  I just can’t seem to step back enough from the details to really let God work in me and with me.

Allen:

I would agree. Worship is such an important part of our spiritual growth and nurture, but it’s hard work planning and leading good worship!  Having no real time to worship God leaves God’s children out in the cold.  Especially here at Franklin Circle Christian Church we need to be reminded of that truth.  Come, together let’s do something about that, and let the warmth of God’s love thaw us all out!

5.

Pastor Allen:

Hey Joe!

What’s going on with you?  As you walked by, I felt a bit of a cold chill!  What is it that’s leaving you ‘out in the cold’ today?

Joe:

Yes, Pastor Allen.  What really brings a chill to my soul is when people become impatient with me.  I feel sometimes that I try my best and people judge me too quickly.  Sometimes I’m just trying to get my head wrapped around something, and sometimes I’m trying to be creative, but then I’m judged.  That leaves me cold.

Allen:

I would agree.  Having people be impatient with us and not really giving us a chance to fully express ourselves, and have that honored, leaves God’s children out in the cold.  Even here at Franklin Circle Christian Church we need to be reminded of that truth.  Come, together let’s do something about that, and let the warmth of God’s love thaw us all out!

6.

Pastor Allen:

Hey Jake!

What’s going on with you?  As you walked by, I felt a bit of a cold chill!  What is it that’s leaving you ‘out in the cold’ today?

Jake:

You’re right.  I do feel cold.  What’s really bringing a chill to my soul right now is lack of direction.  I feel pretty far removed at the moment, in large part because I don’t know which way to turn.  Sometimes I feel that I have too many options in front of me, and at other times I feel I don’t have any.  It’s almost paralyzing!

Allen:

I understand.  Not having direction in life and feeling listless and lost leaves God’s children out in the cold.  I think other folks here at Franklin Circle Christian Church would say they are in the same spot as you.  Come, together let’s do something about that, and let the warmth of God’s love thaw us all out!

